Miles for Midwives, an Intern’s Perspective

by

Image2013red-yelloworange

Synthia Chowdhury, CiC’s Miles for Midwives Event Intern

They say that one of the best ways to learn and contribute to this world is by stepping out and making a difference. Not sure who said it; maybe it was just me talking to myself. But it’s one of the central thoughts that runs through my head on a daily basis. It’s as if my body is a wandering butterfly searching for a chance to show off its exuberance. I cannot explain the excitement and joy I received to be the Events/PR Intern for the 11th Annual Miles for Midwives!  I absolutely love the planning and organizing process of events. There is so much to look forward to, so much anticipation. I think the most exciting part of it all is the people involved. There is so much to learn from others, from watching the way they master their work to hearing about their personal experiences.  And there’s absolutely no hiding my feminist nature, so getting the opportunity to take part in an organization that empowers women and their families to make strong decisions about their childbirth experiences creates a competency within me, one that allows me to grow as an individual and less of a wanderer.

As a Public Relations and Advertising student at The City College of New York, I learned a lot about the communications aspect of an organization, from the history of communications, studying social media as if it were a religion, to gaining media attention through writing and interacting; but it really takes personal experiences to learn about the nuts and bolts of the work field. Interning for Miles for Midwives gave me the opportunity to grow as a professional by allowing me to utilize my knowledge and helping me gain valuable experience.

I never really thought there were so many choices when it came to childbirth. It’s such an important decision for families to make. From the options of having a midwife, doula, massage therapist, acupuncturist- these are only some of the many choices in the birth experience. Don’t even get me started on how amazed I was when I learned more about water birth! We all know the old saying, “you learn something new every day.” I strongly believe I do, and the opportunity to intern for Miles for Midwives makes each day exciting and dynamic.

I look forward to meeting all the midwives, families and supporters on Saturday, October 5th, for the 11th Annual Miles for Midwives! Best of luck to all the runners and let’s get our game faces on for a day full of fun and adventure! The countdown has already begun!

Find more information about the 2013 Miles for Midwives event and register to participate here!

2 Responses to “Miles for Midwives, an Intern’s Perspective”

  1. Emma white Says:

    What a lovely post, all the best for your career

  2. what is a holistic life coach Says:

    I’d like to thank you for the efforts you have put in penning this blog.

    I am hoping to check out the same high-grade blog
    posts by you in the future as well. In fact, your
    creative writing abilities has encouraged me to
    get my own site now 😉

Leave a Reply

