Traditional After-Birth Care Theory and Nutrition

by

By Valerie Lynn, Author, The Mommy Plan

Valerie Lynn

Valerie Lynn

In May 2007, I returned to the U.S. after living in Asia for ten years. That same month, I gave birth to my son, Jordan. I quickly realized that in the United States specific, structured care for mothers after delivery didn’t exist – and still doesn’t today. I’ve asked myself why this is the case many times over the years. Care during the first six weeks post-natally is deemed as a crucial healing period to at least three billion people around the globe. Why is this period not deemed as equally important in my own country, where we have at least 4 million births per year? I attribute this to the medicalization of birth and the diminished role of the midwife, beginning in the early 1900s. Our heritage of after-birth care has been lost. There is no longer an understanding of the transition of a woman’s body back to a non-pregnant state and the intense healing process that goes on in those first few weeks.

The Humoral Theory of Medicine
All after-birth traditions, practices, and guidelines are based on one of the oldest scientific theories in the world, the Humoral Theory of Medicine. According to this ancient theory, there are four conditions in the human body: hot, cold, moist, and dry, and they must remain in balance. The Humoral Theory of Pregnancy states that a woman’s body is out of balance and in a hot state while pregnant, as her body primarily functions as an incubator to support a growing and developing baby. The hot state is due to additional sources of heat, such as: raised level of hormones, baby’s body heat, the placenta and amniotic fluid, as well as a 50% increase in the volume of blood. All of these factors combine to raise a mother’s body temperature throughout pregnancy by 1-1.5°F. In fact, the first scientific pregnancy test was an elevated temperature for two weeks outside of the menstruation period.

When a baby is born, a mother’s body temperature drops the same amount, 1-1.5°F below the normal body temperature. The decrease is due to the loss of heat sources, namely the baby’s body heat, the placenta, amniotic fluid, and blood, along with exhaustion from labor. At this time the mother’s body shifts into a cold state and the Humoral Theory of Medicine can be applied to the post-pregnancy period, when the body is again out of balance.

Sustaining & Raising Body Temperature
Traditional post-pregnancy recovery guidelines emphasize the importance of raising a mother’s internal body temperature at a consistent pace over the six weeks after delivery. Therefore, all guidelines surrounding a mother’s diet and beverage intake, personal care, and activity during this time are based on the notion that, due to the mother’s body being in a cold state, the remaining heat must be protected and maintained, ensuring no body heat escapes. In addition, a post-baby body has specific nutritional and energetic temperament needs than when it was in a pregnant state, which can be met by consuming nutrient dense healing foods.

Heaty foods are Healing Foods
A traditional after birth diet, whether from Asia, Latin America or elsewhere, is one where food is used as medicine to help accelerate the body’s natural healing capabilities. Since a mama’s body is in a cold state after delivery, only heaty foods should be consumed. The word ‘heaty’ refers to the capacity of a particular food, herb or spice to generate a “hot sensation” and warming within the body. This is not to be confused with food being overly spicy, a taste sensation that provides a sharp spicy taste and causes sweating. That sort of heat is not good for a mama’s recovering body.

Foods deemed as having a cold temperament should not be consumed during the healing period after delivery, as this may delay the natural increase in body temperature and shock the body’s digestive system. In turn, this could interrupt the healing process, lower body temperature further, and prolong the recovery process.

Most vegetables are considered to have a cold temperament and theoretically shouldn’t be consumed at this time. However, the coldness may be counteracted by the way the vegetables are prepared. For example, adding fresh ginger root while cooking makes vegetables “warm,” thus acceptable to eat and good for recuperation.

A nutritious, wholesome, and natural diet should always be encouraged. However, even good foods can be trouble for the digestive system during the immediate post-pregnancy period due to the unique state of a mama’s body after delivery. Some of the traditional foods to avoid are nutritious and healthy such as broccoli, tomatoes and cauliflower. Please take note that it is only during the post-birth recovery period, when the body is in a weakened state, that specific foods should be avoided; by no means are they permanent recommendations.

Post-pregnancy Dietary Plan
After childbirth you should continue to eat well. One hour after the placenta is birthed the body begins its transition back to a non-pregnant state. Over the first six weeks postpartum a mama’s body goes through an intense internal workout as a significant amount of healing takes place. Pregnancy is approximately 259 – 280 days or 37-40 weeks, and in just 42 days or six weeks, (medically speaking) the physical shrinkage of the perinatal organs is back to normal and most of the loss of retained water, fat, and gas takes place. This healing time equates to 15% of the total amount of time spent in a pregnant state. With this in mind, don’t you think a post-pregnancy dietary plan is just as important as a dietary plan during pregnancy? Three billion people around the globe do.

By avoiding foods that interfere with the healing process you allow your body to have a stronger and more balanced recovery in a shorter period of time.

Don’t Underestimate Traditional Post-Pregnancy Care
The childbirth industry is in transition as more mothers are searching for ways to help speed up their recovery after childbirth. The United States is one of only four countries in the world that does not require employers to provide paid maternity care. Women therefore need to return to work as soon as they are able. Western countries are no longer underestimating the effectiveness of traditional post-pregnancy care, but trying to understand them. As women across the world are embracing more natural products and services into their lifestyles, western mamas are searching for natural ways to recover from childbirth. Post-pregnancy care that facilitates healing at a faster rate is becoming increasingly valued in modern cultures where women must resume their normal lives within weeks after delivery.

Valerie Lynn is American’s first Post-pregnancy Wellness Coach and founder of the Post-pregnancy Wellness Company. She is introducing an entirely new paradigm regarding after birth care in the United States based on Eastern influences. Her book, The Mommy Plan, Restoring Your Post-pregnancy Body Naturally Using Women’s Traditional Wisdom, is gaining global recognition in the child birth industry as she has explained core tenants of traditional after birth guidelines surrounding a mother’s diet, activities and personal care during the first 6-8 weeks after child birth. Valerie is the International Country Coordinator of Malaysia, for Postpartum Support International (PSI); and is on the Board of Advisors for the After Birth Project, a documentary-in-the-making on the lack of after birth support in the United States and the social effects. Valerie is the first foreigner, in Malaysia, to be university strained in traditional after birth care and is a practicing Traditional Postpartum Practitioner. She offers training in traditional after birth care, herbal body treatments, massage and abdominal wrapping, and is the Sole US distributor of a unique traditional Postnatal Care Set.

39 Responses to “Traditional After-Birth Care Theory and Nutrition”

  1. Jill Says:

    This is such a great article filled with wisdom. I immediately sent it to many expectant moms who would realy resonate with these tools. Great work, Valerie. I can’t wait to take one of your workshops in person!

  2. One Born Every Minute: The Great Debate | A Pertinent Riot Says:

    […] Traditional After-Birth Care Theory and Nutrition (choicesinchildbirth.wordpress.com) […]

  3. Thora Colgan Says:

    Maybe some of your readers would like to check out this offer. I don’t know how long it will be available. I just put in my order for a new baby sling that normally retails for $39.99 and I paid only $11.90. All you are paying for is the “shipping and handling.” Anywho, the website seems like it specializes in “designer”-type slings so I believe this is a pretty good bargain. There’s also “size insurance” which costs something like $5.00 but it can be removed from the order. Visit this store site: http://bit.ly/16LH7Eh and then click “Shop Now” and then select the sling you want. Make sure you select your size and any other options! When you are taken to the page where you put in your information, type ENBABY in the discount code box and the price will be dropped to zero plus S&H. Enjoy!

  4. Emily Morgan Says:

    Eating well after baby birth is very important as your body needs a supply of energy to recover after the delivery. Most of vitamines and nutrients you get during pregnancy are transported to your baby who needs these elements for healthy development. Besides, healthy food guarantees health to your baby while breastfeeding. Well, I don’t say that you should forget about flat belly and nice body. Just be wise when trying to lose weight. I have recently found this article http://www.sbwire.com/press-releases/post-pregnancy-weight-loss-key-to-looking-good-after-birth-of-baby-225069.htm and think that it may help every new mom to lose extra pounds without any harm for her health and especially for the health of her baby.

  5. kurus cepat Says:

    Hmm is anyone else having problems with the images on this blog
    loading? I’m trying to find out if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog.
    Any feed-back would be greatly appreciated.

  6. Nutrition Advice For Runners Says:

    Its like you read my mind! You appear to know a lot about
    this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I think
    that you can do with some pics to drive the message home a little bit, but instead of that, this is excellent blog.
    A great read. I’ll certainly be back.

  7. discount vitamins Says:

    Hi my friend! I want to say that this article is awesome, nice written and include
    almost all vital infos. I would like to look more posts like this .

  8. bleacherreport.com Says:

    If some one wants expert view regarding blogging then i
    recommend him/her to visit this weblog, Keep up the good work.

  9. m㭮er make up Says:

    We’re a gaggle of volunteers and opening a new scheme in our community. Your web site offered us with helpful info to work on. You’ve
    performed an impressive task and our entire community will
    be thankful to you.

  10. burton power tool parts Says:

    When someone writes an paragraph he/she retains the thought
    of a user in his/her mind that how a user can understand it.
    Thus that’s why this article is outstdanding. Thanks!

  11. the best adjustable dumbbells Says:

    Spot on with this write-up, I truly believe this web site needs much more
    attention. I’ll probably be returning to read more, thanks for the info!

  12. Tammi Says:

    fantastic submit, very informative. I wonder why the opposite experts of this sector don’t understand this.

    You should continue your writing. I am sure, you have a
    great readers’ base already!

  13. Mrs. Kate Says:

    Nice post about newborn baby birth care.i like your post.Thank you.

  14. massager for back Says:

    With havin so much content and articles do you ever run into any issues
    of plagorism or copyright violation? My blog has a lot
    of completely unique content I’ve either written myself or outsourced
    but it appears a lot of it is popping it up all over the internet without my permission.
    Do you know any solutions to help stop content from
    being ripped off? I’d certainly appreciate it.

  15. how to lose weight fast Says:

    how to lose weight fast

    Traditional After-Birth Care Theory and Nutrition | Choicesinchildbirth’s Blog

  16. momtv.com Says:

    Hey! I know this is sort of off-topic however I needed to ask.

    Does building a well-established blog such as yours require a lot of
    work? I’m brand new to running a blog however I do write in my
    journal on a daily basis. I’d like to start a blog so I will be able to share my experience and thoughts online.
    Please let me know if you have any recommendations or tips for
    new aspiring blog owners. Appreciate it!

  17. serum Lift Says:

    An outstanding share! I’ve just forwarded this onto a
    co-worker who had been conducting a little research on this.

    And he in fact bought me breakfast simply because I discovered it for him…
    lol. So let me reword this…. Thanks for the meal!!
    But yeah, thanx for spending some time to discuss
    this subject here on your blog.

  18. Dean Says:

    Very well written to give the information on the traditional after birth care theory and nutrition to make the parents aware about it.

  19. super fast weight loss Says:

    It is appropriate time to make a few plans for the longer term and it
    is time to be happy. I have read this put up
    and if I could I want to recommend you some fascinating things or tips.
    Perhaps you could write next articles relating to this article.
    I want to read more issues about it!

  20. seo packages Says:

    Hi, everything is going perfectly here and ofcourse every one is sharing facts,
    that’s actually good, keep up writing.

  21. free seo Says:

    Hi there! I understand this is sort of off-topic but I needed to
    ask. Does building a well-established blog like yours take a massive amount work?

    I am completely new to operating a blog however I do write
    in my diary every day. I’d like to start a blog so I can share my personal experience and views online.

    Please let me know if you have any ideas
    or tips for brand new aspiring bloggers. Appreciate it!

  22. Cambogia Formula Diet Says:

    Its like you read my mind! You appear to know a lot about this,
    like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you
    could do with a few pics to drive the message home a little bit,
    but other than that, this is fantastic blog.
    A great read. I’ll definitely be back.

  23. Vitamin e Foods Says:

    Normally I do not read post on blogs, however I would
    like to say that this write-up very forced me to check out and do it!

    Your writing style has been surprised me. Thank you, very great article.

  24. vitamine a Says:

    You’ve made some good points there. I checked on the internet to find out more about the issue and
    found most individuals will go along with your views on this site.

  25. Vitamina D Says:

    Oh my goodness! Impressive article dude! Thank
    you, However I am having issues with your RSS. I don’t know why I can’t join it.
    Is there anybody else getting identical RSS issues?
    Anyone that knows the answer can you kindly respond? Thanks!!

  26. Custom Website Design Says:

    Your style is really unique compared to other
    folks I’ve read stuff from. I appreciate you
    for posting when you’ve got the opportunity, Guess I’ll just book mark
    this blog.

  27. super-site.net Says:

    You ought to take part in a contest for one of the best sites
    online. I’m going to recommend this web site!

  28. website development Says:

    Hi there, I believe your site could be having web browser compatibility problems.
    When I take a look at your website in Safari, it looks
    fine but when opening in IE, it has some overlapping issues.
    I merely wanted to provide you with a quick heads up!
    Other than that, excellent website!

  29. website marketing Says:

    I just couldn’t depart your website before suggesting that I extremely loved the usual information a person supply to your
    visitors? Is gonna be again regularly to inspect new
    posts

  30. http://indiw0rm.in/ Says:

    It’s an remarkable piece of writing for all the web visitors; they will
    take benefit from it I am sure.

  31. green coffee beans weight loss Says:

    I’m really loving the theme/design of your blog.
    Do you ever run into any web browser compatibility issues?
    A few of my blog visitors have complained about my website
    not operating correctly in Explorer but looks great in Safari.
    Do you have any recommendations to help fix this issue?

  32. http://www.panoseuraa.fi/ Says:

    Valuable information. Fortunate me I found your website by chance, and I am stunned why this coincidence didn’t took place in advance!
    I bookmarked it.

  33. buy xtreme muscle pro Says:

    What’s up to every single one, it’s actually a good for me to go to see this website, it includes helpful Information.

  34. http://www.clairebrosseau.com Says:

    It’s appropriate time to make some plans for the future and it is time to
    be happy. I’ve read this post and if I could I desire to suggest you some interesting things or tips.
    Maybe you can write next articles referring to this
    article. I desire to read even more things about
    it!

  35. healthiersteps.com Says:

    Hi! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any issues with hackers?
    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing a
    few months of hard work due to no back up. Do you have any methods to stop hackers?

  36. http://glutenblog98.wikidot.com Says:

    Breakfast seems like a huge challenge, since it is so common in our society to eat toast and
    cereals, however there are some tasty options that are child-friendly.
    Her scheme worked for it is said that Marc Antony fell madly in love with her.

    The author of this GFP article loves fruit and realises
    that this affair was fostered in childhood where his
    father grew many varieties of fruit trees in his home yard.

  37. Diet tips and fitness goals app Says:

    Please let me know if you’re looking for a author for
    your site. You have some really good posts and
    I think I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d absolutely love to write some material for your
    blog in exchange for a link back to mine. Please blast me an e-mail if interested.
    Thank you!

  38. Gluten Free Qdoba Says:

    They become serious illnesses and a lot of drugs, including cortisone are prescribed to treat them.
    The Japanese speaking searchers spent 43% of their 391 thousand searches
    looking for specific gluten free foods. It was well known that oats were grown, stored, milled and packaged with wheat products are were typically very contaminated with
    gluten.

  39. Iklan Gambar Says:

    Iklan Gambar

    Traditional After-Birth Care Theory and Nutrition | Choicesinchildbirth’s Blog

Leave a Reply

